Audi win The 12 Hours of Sebring

Only 22 seconds ahead of Peugeot, the Audi R15 TDI defeated its competition in its debut race. Dindo Capello, Tom Kristensen and Allan McNish achieved a historic victory in the 12 Hours of Sebring with the new diesel-powered sports car. The Audi drivers completed 383 laps beating the previous distance record by an impressive 13 laps.

Alms said ”One slip up, one extra minute in the pits and the story might be different. McNish crossed the finish line 22.279 seconds ahead of Peugeot’s Franck Montagny in an epic battle between sports car racing’s two diesel powers.”

Risi Competizione won in GT2 for the second time in three years, this time much easier than the team’s epic 2007 victory which it won in class by a race-record 0.202 seconds. Mika Salo took the checkered flag in Risi’s Ferrari F430 GT that he drove with Pierre Kaffer and Jaime Melo by two laps. All these victors and the rest of the field can be found in our 2009 Sebring Gallery.