Become a Member: Get Ad-Free Access to All Our Content
Jaguar XJR-9LM

Jaguar XJR-9LM

1988 Jaguar XJR-9LM

In 1988, Jaguar won the 24 Hours of Le Mans with an entry of five XJR-9 cars. The winning car, driven by Jan Lammers, Johnny Dumfries and Andy Wallace, completed 394 laps and covered a distance of 3313 (5332.79km). This followed Jaguar’s earlier victory at Le Mans when the the winning D-type covered a distance of 2732 miles (4397km) in 1957.

The XJR-9 was manufactured by Tom Walkinshaw Racing (TWR) who began racing Jaguars in the European Touring Car Championship. This led to a victory with the the Jaguar XJS that would motivate a new Group C car. TWR partnered with Bob Tullius who had already campaigned several Group C cars under his Group 44 banner in the states. With backing from Jaguar, he had taken the XJR-5 to Le Mans with moderate success. After two attempts, Jaguar turned to the local Tom Walkinshaw for a fresh approach.

With assistance from Tony Southgate, TWR prepared the XJR-6 which would race both in Europe and in the American IMSA series. It was a departure from previous designs, using a full carbon-fiber monocoque and undercarriage venturis. With little success this car was upgraded into the XJR-7 and the XJR-8 which won the 1986 European World Championship, but retired at Le Mans.

By the time the Le Mans-winning design debuted in 1988, TWR already had a 7.0-liter V12 capable of producing 750 bhp. Five cars equipped with this unit were prepared for Le Mans and the factory-backed Porsche 962C competition. Jaguars led from the inception of the race, but two retirements meant only the XKR-9 of Jan Lammers, Johnny Dumfries and Andy Wallace was the only car left to take overall honors. Despite a transmission problem, the car was driven only in fourth gear until it finished two laps ahead of the Porsche 962C.

1988 Jaguar XJR-9LM Gallery


In Detail

type Racing Car
body stylist Tony Southgate
production 6
engine 60º V12
position Mid Longitudinal
aspiration SOHC, 2 Valves per Cyl
block material Aluminum
valvetrain 2 Valves / Cyl
fuel feed Zytek Fuel Injection
displacement 6995 cc / 426.86 in³
bore 94 mm / 3.7 in
stroke 84 mm / 3.3 in
compression 12.0:1
power 559.3 kw / 750 bhp @ 7200 rpm
specific output 107.22 bhp per litre
bhp/weight 851.31 bhp per tonne
torque 828 nm / 610.7 ft lbs @ 5500 rpm
body / frame Kevlar & Carbon Fibre Monocoque
driven wheels RWD
front tires Dunlop Denloc Racing
rear tires Dunlop Denloc Racing
front brakes Carbon Fiber Discs w/AP Racing Calipers
rear brakes Carbon Fiber Discs w/AP Racing Calipers
steering Rack & Pinion w/Power Assist
f suspension Double Wishbones w/Inboard Coil Springs over Dampers
r suspension Double Wishbones w/Inboard Coil Springs over Dampers
curb weight 881 kg / 1942 lbs
length 4780 mm / 188.2 in
width 2000 mm / 78.7 in
height 1030 mm / 40.6 in
transmission March/TWR 5-Speed Manual
top speed ~394.20 kph / 245 mph
key drivers Martin Brundle, Jan Lammers, Johnny Dumfries, Andy Wallace
race victories 1988 Daytona 24 Hours, 1988 24 Hours of Le Mans


Auction Sales History


1988 Jaguar XJR-9 TWR-J12C-388 – sold for $2,145,000 Winner of the 24 Hours of Daytona in 1990. Placed 2nd overall at seven IMSA events, including the 1989 24 Hours of Daytona. Podium finishes at the 1989 and 1990 12 Hours of Sebring. The sole remaining example of two purpose-built, IMSA-specification XJR-9s ever built. Presented in truly stunning condition; restored and maintained regardless of cost. Fantastic, fully detailed history and memorabilia included with the sale. Extensive available s… read more
Auction Source: 2015 Amelia Island by RM Sotheby’s