Become a Member: Get Ad-Free Access to All Our Content

2010 Monte Carlo Rally

After 405 km, 15 stages and 3 days, our favorite winter rally is over. Through it all, Mikko Hirvonen drove M-Sport’s Ford Fiesta S2000 to victory. He led from start to finish with 1:53 separating him from Juho Hanninen in his Skoda Fabia S2000. They both beat an armada of 10 Peugeots with star drivers Stephane Sarrazin, Sebastian Ogier and Kris Meeke.

Held for the second year by the Intercontinental Rally Challenge (IRC), this new series was more flexible than the WRC and could adopt many of the classic Monte stages like the Col de Turini. The success of the IRC has forced WRC to accommodate S2000 regulations for 2010 including six of the winning M-Sport Ford Fiestas.

Our gallery from the 2010 Monte shows almost all the 63 competitors and many which got very little time on Eurosport like Mathieu Arzeno who placed very well in his Renault Clio R3. This year Eurosport 2 had an unprecedented 14 hours of live coverage from the Monte. The official review will air on Tuesday at 23:00 CET.