Become a Member: Get Ad-Free Access to All Our Content

Ogier and Peugeot take the Monte

Driving his Peugeot 207 S2000, Sebastien Ogier became the first junior driver to win the Monte Carlo. Today he joins the ranks of famous drivers to win the world’s most prestigious rally.

This was possible because Intercontinental Rally Challenge (IRC) now govern the Monte under S2000 guidelines. Alongside the Peugeot, the entry list featured cars such as the Abarth Punto S2000, Skoda Fabia S2000 and the Misubishi Lancer Evo IX.

Compared to WRC, the smaller S2000 are much cheaper to run, encouraging more private entrants. This is especially true in the 2WD class which won by won by Manual Villa in a Fiat Punto S1600.

We have assembled a stunning gallery of the Monte for 2009 and recommend it as essential viewing.