Any professional car mechanic up in here ?

Discussion in 'Technical' started by G1zm0, May 8, 2012.

1. My question is, what kind of training you got ?
    I'm leaving the army in the coming year or so an want a career change. I love cara and that's what I want to do, but what training m/course should I follow ?

2. is cara the doll in your avatar?

i recommend citrus college, tbf

3. it all depends on what country you are in. theres different qualifications everywhere to become a mechanic.

4. I have an associates degree in automotive technology, I also have P2 certification from ASE (By no means required for techs, the test covers a lot of basics and requires parts identification, as well as basic diagnostic procedures).

In the US there is a lot of push to have technicians ASE certified.

I would also check in with your local technical college, BWD and Standard Motor Products often hold classroom training sessions in the evenings in these locations. Their classes are a lot more specialized, like 'Top Ford Driveability Problems" and "Scope Use".

You will also want to get your IMACA/MACS certification so you can purchase and handle R-12.

There can be profit had in the A/C field. R-12 cannot be purchased without 609 certification and since production ceased on R-12 back in the early 1990s, stockpiles of the stuff are getting smaller and smaller, driving up the price (Roughly $2.50/oz right now). However there are still many pre-1995 cars and trucks on the road with R-12 in them and since these owners cannot purchase R-12 themselves, they are left up to converting. Get yourself a modern recovery machine (Cannot remember the current SAE J-rating, but the latest machines have damn near 100% recovery rate, whereas older machines would end up losing half of the recovered charge), a virgin tank and start drawing down all of that profit from people's cars and then resell it (Legally of course, have to keep logs and certification numbers for at least a few years).