Minimum cylinder displacement

Discussion in 'Car Comparisons' started by chornedsnorkack, Jan 20, 2010.

1. How much displacement does a cylinder of a benzine burning, 4 stroke otto engine need to function?

Many engines with large number of cylinders are big engines. But not all are.

For example, the early, 1950s Ferraris have just 2 l displacement for V12. Just 166 ccm per cylinder.

How would the performance of a 2 l Ferrari V12 compare against a 2 l ordinary straight-six or flat-four? And how would the space taken up by the engine compare?

BRM built a V16 racing car with under 1,5 l displacement. Just 93 ccm per engine.

Would you prefer a 1,5 l V16 or a 1,5 l inline four?

2. isnt like, less cilinders, more torque, when same displacement?

3. I'm no expert, but I would say #$%# no to that.

4. it basically ends up as a tradeoff between cycle efficiency, reliability, and friction.

more cyls tend to increase cycle efficiency, but decrease reliability and increase frictional losses.

5. i know they posted the pitpass forum link, but her is another answer if your still reading this.

because the 2l v12 has smaller pistons and probably a much shorter stroke. the pistons are one lighter, and are probably capable of higher rpms vs longer stroke heavier piston 2L 4 cylinder or 6 cylinder.

because the parts are lighter, they can spin faster. going off the basic formula

hp = (torque x rpms) / 5252

in the v12 i can replace torque for rpms, string that v12 to 9k rpms probably. even if that v12 only produced 300hp at that rpm i need just 175ft lbs of torque. pretty doable with that small of a engine.

but even take a 2L 4 cylinder NA tuned engine. Like the 250R Zetec motor.

it produces 250bhp at probably a much lower 7k rpm vs the 9k, and ~185 torque, because of its heavier pistons and longer strokes

but given that, the 4 or 6 cylinder would more than likely put out more torque but not always

at any rate you will be looking at the applications...