Become a Member: Get Ad-Free Access to All Our Content
2005 Mitsubishi Pajero/Montero Evolution

2005 Mitsubishi Pajero/Montero Evolution

2005 Mitsubishi Pajero/Montero Evolution


Fifth successive victory for Mitsubishi Motors Team in Dakar Rally

DAKAR, Senegal – The Mitsubishi Motors team won the Dakar Rally for a record-breaking 10th time, when Frenchman Stephane Peterhansel and codriver Jean-Paul Cottret steered their Mitsubishi Pajero/Montero Evolution to victory at Lac Rose in Senegal.

Mitsubishi’s long experience of off-road racing experience came to the forefront, when the Japanese manufacturer clinched a fifth successive victory in the world’s most difficult off-road rally.

Peterhansel’s team mate Luc Alphand and co-driver Gilles Picard made it an emphatic 1- 2 for the Mitsubishi Motors team by taking the runner-up position in their Mitsubishi Pajero/Montero Evolution. In the 27-year history of the world’s most famous off-road rally no manufacturer of cars, bikes and trucks can match the Japanese company’s winning record.

Mitsubishi’s Peterhansel took the lead as the event headed across the wastelands of Mauritania and won from the front over the remaining special stages through Mali and Sénegal. Team mate Alphand shadowed him to the finish on his debut with the Mitsubishi team and Spaniard Joan Roma – the winner last year on a motorcycle – finished sixth overall in the third Mitsubishi Pajero/Montero Evolution.

The event began in Barcelona on New Year’s Eve and took place over 15 timed special stages in five countries. Mitsubishi won five timed sections, with Peterhansel winning four and Alphand taking the fastest time through the Tidjikja to Atar section.

Overall final classification after SS16:

1. Stephane Peterhansel /Jean-Paul Cottret – Mitsubishi Pajero/Montero Evolution – 52h 31m 39s 2. Luc Alphand /Gilles Picard – Mitsubishi Pajero/Montero – Evolution 52h 58m 53s 3. Jutta Kleinschmidt /Fabrizia Pons – Volkswagen Touareg – 55h 53m 39s 4. Giniel de Villiers /Jean-Marie Lurquin – Nissan Pick-Up – 56h 34m 15s 5. Bruno Saby /Michel Perin – Volkswagen Touareg – 61h 15m 53s 6. Joan Roma /Henri Magne – Mitsubishi Pajero/Montero – 61h 51m 16s 7. Carlos Sousa /Thierry Delli-Zotti – Nissan Pick-Up – 62h 34m 08s 8. Thierry Magnaldi / Jean-Paul Forthomme – Honda Buggy – 63h 35m 23s

Story by Mitsubishi Motor Company

In Detail

submitted by Richard Owen
engine Mivec 6-cylinder w/Dry Sump Lubrication
valvetrain DOHC 4 Valves per Cyl
fuel feed ECI multi-point fuel injection
displacement 3997 cc / 243.9 in³
power 201.3 kw / 270 bhp @ 5500 rpm
specific output 67.55 bhp per litre
bhp/weight 147.95 bhp per tonne
body / frame Steel Honeycomb & Carbon Fibre Body over Multi-Tubular Frame
driven wheels Full Time 4WD w/Mechanical Centre Diff Lock, Xtrac Self-Locking Differentials
front tires BF Goodrich 235/85 – 16
rear tires BF Goodrich 235/85 – 16
front brakes Ventilated Brembro Discs w/6-Piston Calipers
f brake size mm / in
rear brakes Ventilated Brembro Discs w/6-Piston Calipers
r brake size mm / in
front wheels F 40.6 x 17.8 cm / 16 x 7 in
rear wheels R 40.6 x 17.8 cm / 16 x 7 in
steering Power Assisted Rack & Pinion
f suspension Double Wishbones w/Coil Springs, Twin Adjustable Shocks
r suspension Double Wishbones w/Coil Springs, Twin Adjustable Shocks
curb weight 1825 kg / 4023 lbs
wheelbase 2775 mm / 109.3 in
front track 1750 mm / 68.9 in
rear track 1736 mm / 68.3 in
length 4222 mm / 166.2 in
width 1978 mm / 77.9 in
transmission 6-speed Ricardo-Type, Sequential Shift
gear ratios :1