Abarth & C. S.p.A. is a racing car and road car maker founded by Italo-Austrian Carlo Abarth in 1949. Its logo is a shield with a stylized scorpion on a red and yellow background.

Abarth & C. S.p.A. is a fully owned subsidiary of FCA Italy S.p.A. (formerly Fiat Group Automobiles S.p.A.), the subsidiary of Fiat Chrysler Automobiles (formerly of Fiat S.p.A.) controlling its European automotive production activities.

In the 1960s, Abarth was successful in hillclimbing and sports car racing, mainly in classes from 850cc to 2000cc, competing with Porsche 904 and Ferrari Dino. Hans Herrmann was a factory driver from 1962 until 1965, winning the 500 km Nürburgring in 1963 with Teddy Pilette.

Carlo sold Abarth to Fiat on 31 July 1971. The acquisition was only made public by Fiat with a press release on 15 October. As Fiat was not interested in the Reparto Corse racing operations, these were taken over by Enzo Osella.

Osella obtained cars, spares, technicians and drivers (amongst them Arturo Merzario), and continued the racing activity founding the Osella racing team. Thus ended for Abarth the days of sport prototype and hill climb racing.

See all Abarth Cars, News & Updates

abarth logo 2


Abarth Cars

All Abarth Cars
1951 Abarth 205 A
1955 Abarth 207 A
2010 Abarth 500C
2010 Abarth 500 R3T
2013 Abarth 595 Competizione
2013 Abarth 595 Turismo
2011 Abarth 695 Competizione
2012 Abarth 695 Edizione Maserati
2013 Abarth 695 ‘Fuori Serie’
2009 Abarth 695 ‘Tributo Ferrari’
2007 Abarth Grande Punto
2007 Abarth Grande Punto S2000
2010 Abarth Punto Evo
2011 Abarth Punto “SuperSport”