Become a Member: Get Ad-Free Access to All Our Content
1993 Subaru Impreza 555

1993 Subaru Impreza 555

1993 Subaru Impreza 555

Following the Legacy RS and its single victory, the Impreza made its competition debut at rally Finland in 1993. Subaru opted to call their competition model the 555 since their key sponsor was State Express 555 who manufactured cigarettes, but were forbidden to advertise under FIA guidelines.

Being smaller than the Legacy it replaced, the Impreza was a more successful car. It used the same engine, chassis and strut suspension, but had smaller dimensions for increased responsiveness. The engine also got a new turbo, intercooler and cylinder heads. With these promising upgrades, Ari Vatanen finished second during the car’s inaugural race at Finland’s 1000 Lakes Rally, but it would take another year for an overall victory.

1995 was the turnaround year for Subaru. Star drivers Colin McCrae and Carloz Saintz practically dominated the season, taking victories at the RAC Rally, Catalunya Rally, Rally of New Zealand and Portugal Rally. This set the pace for two further Manufacturers championships in 1996 and ’97.

Colin McCrae also won the Drivers’ World Rally Championship in 1995. The Scotsman was the youngest world champion to ever clinch the title. Pictured above are images of Colin McRae during this signature season.

The 555 would continue to into 1996, but an entirely new set of regulations forced Subaru to release the WRC97 for subsequent seasons.

In Detail

submitted by Richard Owen
engine Aluminum Boxer-4
aspiration IHI Turbo
valvetrain DOHC 4 Valves per Cyl
displacement 1994 cc / 121.7 in³
bore 92 mm / 3.62 in
stroke 75 mm / 2.95 in
power 223.7 kw / 300 bhp @ 5500 rpm
specific output 150.45 bhp per litre
bhp/weight 248.34 bhp per tonne
torque 480 nm / 354.0 ft lbs @ 4000 rpm
body / frame Unit Steel
driven wheels 4WD
f brake size mm / in
r brake size mm / in
curb weight 1208 kg / 2663 lbs
length 4340 mm / 170.9 in
width 1690 mm / 66.5 in
height 1405 mm / 55.3 in
gear ratios :1
race victories 1994 Rally Corsica, 1995 RAC Rally, 1995 Catalunya Rally, 1995 Rally of New Zealand, 1995 Portugal Rally, 1996 Rally of Thailand, 1996 Rally of Malaysia, 1996 Rally New Zealand